NBA All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award

The National Basketball Association All-Star Game Most Valuable Player (MVP) is the Yearly National Basketball Association (NBA) award given to the player(s) voted best of This annual All-Star Game.

The award was established in 1953 when NBA officials made a decision to designate an MVP for every calendar year’s match. The league players. Ed Macauley and Paul Arizin were selected as the 1951 and 1952 MVP winners respectively. The voting is conducted by a panel of media members, who cast their vote after the ending of the game. The player(s) together with the most votes or ties to the most votes wins the award. No All-Star Game MVP was called in 1999 since the match was canceled due to the league’s lockout. As of 2019, the most recent recipient is Golden State Warrior forward Kevin Durant.
Bob Pettit and Kobe Bryant are the only two players to win the All-Star Game MVP four occasions. Oscar Robertson, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O’Neal, and LeBron James have each won the award three times, while Bob Cousy, Julius Erving, Isiah Thomas, Magic Johnson, Karl Malone, Allen Iverson, Russell Westbrook, and Kevin Durant have won the award twice. James’ first All-Star MVP at 2006 left him the youngest to have ever won the award at age 21 years, 1 month. Kyrie Irving, winner of the 2014 All-Star Game MVP, is the second-youngest at 21 years, 10 months. They are notable as being the two youngest to win the award, equally as Cleveland Cavaliers. Four of those games had joint champions –Elgin Baylor and Pettit in 1959, John Stockton and Malone at 1993, O’Neal and Tim Duncan in 2000, and O’Neal and Bryant at 2009. O’Neal became the first participant in playoff history to discuss two MVP awards as well as the first player to win the award with multiple teams. The Los Angeles Lakers have experienced eleven winners while the Boston Celtics have experienced eight. Duncan of the U.S. Virgin Islands and Irving of Australia will be the sole winners not born in the USA. Both Duncan and Irving[a] are American taxpayers, but are considered”international” players from the NBA since they weren’t born in one of the fifty states or Washington, D.C. No player trained entirely outside the U.S. has won the award; Irving lived at the U.S. since age two, and Duncan played with U.S. college basketball at Wake Forest.
Bob Pettit (1958, 1959) and Russell Westbrook (2015, 2016) are the only players to win successive awards. Pettit (1956), Bob Cousy (1957), Wilt Chamberlain (1960), Bill Russell (1963), Oscar Robertson (1964), Willis Reed (1970), Dave Cowens (1973), Michael Jordan (1988, 1996, 1998), Magic Johnson (1990), Shaquille O’Neal (2000), and Allen Iverson (2001) all won the All-Star Game MVP and the NBA Most Valuable Player Award in precisely the exact same season; Jordan is the only player to do so multiple times. [7] 14 players have won the award playing for the team which hosted the All-Star Game: Macauley (1951), Cousy (1957), Pettit (1958, 1962), Chamberlain (1960), Adrian Smith (1966), Rick Barry (1967), Jerry West (1972), Tom Chambers (1987), Michael Jordan (1988), Karl Malone (1993), John Stockton (1993), O’Neal (2004, 2009), Bryant (2011) and Davis (2017); Pettit and O’Neal did so multiple times. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar gets the distinction of playing at the most All-Star Games (18) without winning the All-Star Game MVP, while Adrian Smith won the MVP in his only All-Star Game.

Read more: